Can consulting manage Brexit?
Home » News » Consultants are 2012 First Women

Consultants share UK's 2012 First Women Awards

First Women Awards
Prof Hilary Thomas
Aimie Chapple, Accenture

London: Two prominent consultants were lauded at the 2012 First Women Awards in London last week.

Accenture's Aimie Chapple and Hilary Thomas of KPMG shared the Business Services award category.

Aimie Chapple is managing director of Accenture's Management Consulting business in the UK & Ireland, and current president of the MCA (Management Consultancies Association).

Chapple joined Accenture in 1992 and was appointed to the managing director role in September 201; previously she led the firm's Talent & Organisation practice.

Professor Hilary Thomas is a lead partner in KPMG's Public Sector Healthcare Advisory practice.

She joined KPMG in 2009 and is currently the Diversity and Inclusion lead for the public sector at KPMG and sits on the firm's corporate responsibility leadership team.

Before joining KPMG, Thomas had a prominent and distinguished career in medicine. She spent twenty three years in the NHS, from qualifying as a doctor in 1984 to becoming a Professor of Oncology. She became Group Medical Director of Care UK plc, and has been a trustee of Breakthrough Breast Cancer since 2007 and Vice Chair since 2008.

Thomas said, "I was honoured and delighted to receive this award. Awards of this kind play a really important role in helping to celebrate and promote the huge contribution and potential for women in business."

The First Women Awards are designed to recognise trailblazing women across industry in the UK, and are one of the most prestigious awards of their kind.

The 2012 Awards, were presented in association with Lloyds Banking Group, at an event hosted by BBC presenter Clare Balding.

Theresa May, Home Secretary and Minister for Women and Equalities, was at the Awards. She said, "All the winners and nominees are leading the way and I hope these awards will inspire even more women to become pioneers. I want us to do everything we can to unleash women's talents and give them the support they need to reach the top."

Other winners included Diane Johnson, the first woman to be appointed president of the Electrical Contractors' Association, and the UK's first professor of networking, Julia Hobsbawm.

Share this article